Worth More Than a Thousand Words

 

Anthony Wayne Walker January 21 at 2:19pm
One could tell that the Huffington Post was whoring out by the way they select stories, edit comments, celeb stories about which Hollywood star has a boil on their ass, but you take the fucking cake. Nothing more than a corporate whore. If you bowed to the Mortgage Bankers Association who else brought you a bag of dicks to suck?

Peter S. Goodman January 23 at 10:11am Report
You’re confused about the facts at issue and totally off base. If you want to discuss, I’m happy to fill you in on what actually happened. If you send me a number I’ll give you a call

Anthony Wayne Walker January 23 at 10:48am
The facts? So you didn’t fire Elk because he wasn’t a paid reporter. You cut ties with him? You banned him from blogging. Huffpo took credit and promoted his writings when it suited. Elk represented himself as a reporter? Not really clear on that one. The fact is Elk pissed someone off at the MBA meeting, you got a call. On excuse is as good as the other, total horse shit. Sadly Huffpo has become nothing more than a People’s Magazine of which celeb has a boil on their ass and fraudulently “plays” the left. Credibility moot. The pic of Arianna and Issa says it all.

Peter S. Goodman January 23 at 11:50am Report
It’s not that elk pissed off someone at mba. I don’t care if this is a meeting of nuns or a conference of labor activists: if someone representing themselves as journalist asks for credentials to cover something and then hands off credentials to activists who storm the place, they have done something dishonest. On that basis, ties are severed with any reputable journalistic outlet. And spinning this as an example of a point of view being censored is equally dishonest. And if you honestly think my work is informed by some sort of reverence for mortgage bankers, you ought to actually read some of it.

Peter S. Goodman January 23 at 11:55am Report
It’s not that elk pissed off someone at mba. I don’t care if this is a meeting of nuns or a conference of labor activists: if someone representing themselves as journalist asks for credentials to cover something and then hands off credentials to activists who storm the place, they have done something dishonest. On that basis, ties are severed with any reputable journalistic outlet. And spinning this as an example of a point of view being censored is equally dishonest. And if you honestly think my work is informed by some sort of reverence for mortgage bankers, you ought to actually read some of it.

Peter S. Goodman January 23 at 12:00pm Report
It’s not that elk pissed off someone at mba. I don’t care if this is a meeting of nuns or a conference of labor activists: if someone representing themselves as journalist asks for credentials to cover something and then hands off credentials to activists who storm the place, they have done something dishonest. On that basis, ties are severed with any reputable journalistic outlet. And spinning this as an example of a point of view being censored is equally dishonest. And if you honestly think my work is informed by some sort of reverence for mortgage bankers, you ought to actually read some of it.

Anthony Wayne Walker January 23 at 12:31pm
Just listened to Carole King and James Taylor on PBS. The music reminded me I’m not that big of an asshole. My initial comments were out of line, the bag of dicks and all, and for that I apologize. Not meant as personal attack. I have read some of your work, outstanding piece of work on the stagnation of workers income. But. you more than most know how business plays the game, no rules. So what the party was crashed because someone hedged a bit on an I.D.. Business has never lied or mislead? The ends justify the means. Fire with Fire. I do understand business and business decisions. My life was abruptly changed by a business decision some years ago. I stand by my comments in regard to the Huffington Post. We on the left are fretting about having a true voice and and ear. I’ll leave it at that.

Peter S. Goodman January 23 at 2:23pm Report
I much appreciate your writing back. We can disagree about what is called for in this case, and what journalistic standards should apply. I respect your view, even as I have another. And I appreciate your respecting that what I did is not motivated by any desire to squelch working people or cater to banks. Rather, I’m trying to protect the journalistic integrity of the huffpost precisely because I see us playing a vital role in representing worker interests against powerful special interests, and I don’t want people to be able to write us off as a bunch of pranksters. Thanks for taking the time for this exchange. I wish you the best.

Anthony Wayne Walker January 23 at 4:21pm
Damn shame world peace, hunger and poverty can’t be dealt with in the same manner, I mean a couple rational minds coming to a respectable agreement of disagreement ain’t it? Your “bunch of pranksters” comment I understand. No respectable journalist want’s to be thought as a Andrew Breitbart/ James O’keefe. I too see a vital role for the Huffpost in representing worker vs special interest. Keep up the thankless work, the good work. My best to you.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Foghorn
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 23:31:24

    saw yer buzz profile…thought i’d let u know that quote is from John Lennon…..from a song…”Beautiful Boy”… bye ! Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans 🙂

    Reply

    • TurboKitty
      Feb 19, 2011 @ 23:36:05

      Actually, it’s not. the original author of that quote can be dated back to Plato’s time though no one knows who the real author is, Plato is often accredited to it by default.

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.