Nevada Senate Members

03/10/2012

To: Nevada Senate Members,

Current Legislators

Via E-Mail

Women of this Great Nation—No not just Women but Humanity needs your help to bring to light that the Equal Rights Amendment has never been ratified.

“The Equal Rights Amendment, first proposed in 1923 to affirm that women and men have equal rights under the law, is still not part of the U.S. Constitution.

The ERA was passed out of Congress in 1972 and has been ratified by 35 of the necessary 38 states. When three more states vote yes, it is possible that the ERA could become the 28th Amendment. The ERA could also be ratified by restarting the traditional process of passage by a two-thirds majority in the Senate and the House of Representatives, followed by ratification by legislatures in three-quarters (38) of the 50 states.”

“Equality of rights under the law shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any state on account of sex.”

The “3-state strategy,” developed during the 1990s, provides a very promising means for attaining that goal SOON. Achieving ratification in just three of the 15 remaining not-yet-ratified states*, and then ensuring that the Equal Rights Amendment is therefore added to the Constitution.

Nevada is one of the 15 states that have not ratified the ERA.

THIS IS WHERE YOU COME IN!!!

Please, in the upcoming session, make sure that this issue comes up for ratification on Nevada’s Senate Floor.

Let’s Not Keep Women Waiting Any Longer!

From: Nevada Progressive Democrats of America Southern Nevada Chapter

*The 15 not-yet-ratified states are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Utah, and Virginia.

To Shirley.Breeden@sen.state.nv.us, Barbara.Cegavske@sen.state.nv.us, Moises.Denis@sen.state.nv.us, Steven.Horsford@sen.state.nv.us, Ruben.Kihuen@sen.state.nv.us, John.Lee@sen.state.nv.us, David.Parks@sen.state.nv.us, Michael.Schneider@sen.state.nv.us, Valerie.Wiener@sen.state.nv.us

Advertisements

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Leslie Sexton
    Mar 11, 2012 @ 18:35:52

    Such a simple statement. What’s the problem? Get ‘er done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: