Just for Today I believe I am Free

Two very interesting things happened today. First I was told that if I chose to run for a particular political office, that I had better be a Christian. Well, I’m not a Christian. I am an Animist. The U.S. Constitution protects my right to be whatever faith or follow whatever spiritual path that I choose to. We are a secular nation. I think some people forgot that. I think some people also forgot that the U.S. Constitution protects my right and everyone else’s, to follow whatever denomination they want to and it also protects people’s Rights to be free, to not follow any religion at all. To me that means, in as much as someone might like to force me, or scare me, or persuade me, I have a right not to be afraid or be forced, or, you can lead a horse to water but you can’t make them drink. By the same token, I don’t have the right to try to force, or scare, anyone else into believing the way I do. That “my way or the highway” mentality is juvenile at best, to me.

I love the word choice, and all the variations that it comes in. Especially the part where I choose to walk away and practice self censorship because I don’t agree. Everyone else has that Right too, though I don’t have the Right to censor them and they don’t have the Right to censor me. Furthermore, my perception says to me, what may work for me, may not work for someone else and lo and behold, we can talk about it, or not talk about it as we choose, amongst ourselves. My Rights end where another person’s Rights begin.

I was also told that because I had outed myself as a proponent of certain activities that I was wrong. Just wrong for liking them. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I respect that however, I would never tell someone they were wrong in being, just because they didn’t see things my way. My opinion is mine alone, though others may agree with me and others may not. I have that Right, as protected by the U.S. Constitution, to have my opinion. I have the right to express that opinion too, without fear.

So, to be clear, in the future, to those of you who would try to silence me, I will not be silenced. In return, I will show you the same respect that I feel, any human being, deserves. By the same token, those of you who would continue to try to silence me, be warned, I’ll just get louder within the confines of the Law, because I am guaranteed the Right to be Free.

Leave a Reply

