Another Statistic

It doesn’t matter that I’m a type 1 diabetic. It doesn’t matter that even though we have health reform, the price of the medication has doubled in the past month. It doesn’t matter that without medication, I will most certainly die. So will many others. Is it because of Health Reform that pharmaceutical medications have gone up? Because we tried to stand up for ourselves and stand with reform. Is this how they punish those of us that now call ourselves the “working class”?

I wanted single-payer. I wanted to be enveloped into Medicare. As it is, I probably won’t see the age that’s been set for me to receive Medicare and up until 4 years ago, I had medical insurance. Now I have to buy everything over the counter and it’s not cheap.

At the moment I’m still pretty healthy. I’m not fat, I’m not blind, and I’m not on dialysis, I even have all my toes. I take good care of myself. I’m not going to be allowed to much longer though, if the prices keep going up.

I have one paying job and two volunteer positions. I won’t name any organizations however, I was told as an organizer for a certain entity, that I wasn’t allowed to support single-payer, except on my own time. Things like that tend to make a person a little bitter. It’s not like I’m not bitter enough though, over the last two decades of crapola that was dished out by the previous occupant of the White House. I know we were promised Health Reform, we got it. Now I want something I can afford and I’d like it to happen sometime before I’m unable to use it.

“They got theirs”, right? So, what about me? What about the million plus other people who still don’t have medical insurance, with chronic illnesses? They just saw their medications go up to twice the price of what they used to be. I am a contributing member of society. I have a job. I’m even a home owner. I still can not afford the price to pay for insurance of any kind.

I am not a “welfare queen”, I do not ask for “hand-outs”. I would like to be able to pursue what’s left of my life, without the fear of not seeing another day, because I can not do without for even a single day.

I do not want to become another statistic as a reference, to help pass a single-payer agenda on the House floor.

Leave a Reply

